Juvenile OVI (Operating a Vehicle After Underage Consumption)

April 16th, 2011 by DaytonDUI Leave a reply »

Juvenile BAC Limit is .02 in Ohio

O.R.C. 4511.19(B) makes it illegal for persons under 21 years of age to drive a vehicle with a concentration of .02 percent, but less than .08 percent by weight of alcohol by whole blood or breath, or with an equivalent amount by blood serum or plasma or urine.  (1994 S.B. 82, eff. 5/4/94).  In 2004, amended R.C. 4511.19(B) renamed the offense “operating a vehicle after underage consumption” (OVUAC).  In State v. Gibson, 2000 WL 303134 (Ohio Ct. App. 4th Dist. Ross County 2000), the Fourth Appellate District held that “because the pers se limit for a violation is so minimal, an officer may have probable cause to arrest a person under twenty-one on more ‘subtle’ factors than tranditional indicia of probable cause for adult drivers.  You may hear DUI defense attorneys refer to OVUAC as “baby DUIs.”

Because some juvenile court magistrates do not see as many DUI cases as a municipal court judges, it is incumbent upon your OVI attorney to be prepared to explain the law as well as  advocate on your behalf.  Charles M. Rowland II has successfully fought for juvenile OVI offenders in Juvenile Courts, Common Pleas Courts and Municipal Courts throughout Ohio.  Charles Rowland understands the impact an OVUAC or underage consumption charge can have on sports eligibility, college admission and job opportunities.  Chances are Charles Rowland has represented a kid in your position.  Experience Matters!  Call Ohio OVUAC attorney Charles Rowland today at 937-318-1DUI (318-1384).

Comments are closed.