Is it a crime to refuse to take a breath test?
Ohio has adopted O.R.C. 4511.19(A)(2) which makes it a crime to refuse to take an evidentiary chemical test if you have a prior OVI (drunk driving) or OVUAC (juvenile/underage drunk driving) conviction any time within the last twenty (20) years. If you refuse and you have a prior within twenty (20) years then the penalties for your OVI offense will be double the mandatory minimum. (See generally the “Penalties” [Read the full post. . .]
15 days if you took the test, 30 days if you did not (First Offense)
If you are stopped for an OVI, DUI or drunk driving and you refuse to take a chemical test (breath, blood or urine), or if your test results exceed the legal limit of Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC), the police officer can and will take your driver’s license on the spot causing your drivers license to be suspended immediately. This pre-conviction suspension [Read the full post. . .]
Driving Under the Influence May Prevent Entry Into Canada
Canada places strict limits on who may enter. One of the most vexing restrictions is the Criminal Inadmissibility due to a DUI charge. Shockingly, you may also be denied admission due to the conduct of a dependent who has a prior DUI offense. Obviously, the best way to prevent a problem is to hire an aggressive DUI/OVI attorney who will fight to prevent a conviction. Tell your Ohio OVI attorney [Read the full post. . .]
My practice is proud to serve the military community in and around Wright-Patterson Air Force Base. One of the recurring questions we get from military personnel is whether or not a federal or out-of-state DUI can be used to enhance a DUI they get here in Ohio. At one time they did not. Now, however, the offenses received in another state or on federal property do count. See Ohio Revised Code 4511.181(A). DUI defense attorneys challenged the ex post [Read the full post. . .]