Tag Archives: Misdemeanor

Ohio DUI Laws: An Overview

This post collects together in one place many of the Ohio DUI Laws that arise in drunk driving cases.   Some Ohio DUI laws are listed because law enforcement will charge these offenses to establish probable cause for pulling over your vehicle.  If you need to find out more about a specific law, or how…
Read more

Affirmative Defenses to a Driving Under Suspension Charge

Ohio law provides two affirmative defenses to the crime of driving under suspension.  Ohio Revised Code section 4510.04, Affirmative defenses to driving under suspension or cancellation, provides in pertinent part, It is an affirmative defense to any prosecution brought under section 4510.11, 4510.14, 4510.16, or 4510.21 of the Revised Code or under any substantially equivalent municipal ordinance that the alleged…
Read more

Reckless Operation in Ohio: What is the Law?

RECKLESS OPERATION: What is the law? Reckless operation in Ohio can constitute any number of offenses within the Ohio Revised Code dealing with operation of a vehicle with willful or wanton disregard to persons or property.  Commonly, reckless operation is charged under O.R.C. 4511.20 (all codes sections are set forth below).  There is a separate…
Read more

Ohio Revised Code 4511.194, Physical Control

Ohio Revised Code section 4511.194 defines the crime of “Physical Control.”  The crime of "Physical Control" involves being in physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or a drug of abuse.  This definition means that you do not have to be driving or operating the car.  If a person is in…
Read more

What Constitutes a Felony DUI in Ohio?

Ohio has enacted two “look-back” statutes which enhance the penalties for a DUI; a six year look-back and a twenty year look-back.  This post will focus on when a DUI becomes a felony.  For a complete list of penalties for DUI offenses check out my previous article OHIO OVI PENALTIES. Six Year Look-Back If you…
Read more

What Are The Costs of a DUI?

Potential expenses from a DUI According to a recent CNBC article: Drunk Driving Could Cost $20,000, by Craig Guillot, you could expect to spend as much as $20,000.00 in total costs for a first time DUI offense.  Another article, The Most Expensive Ride You'll Ever Take, by Ashley Grant details her expensive experience with a DUI…
Read more

Springfield Ohio DUI Information

Image via Wikipedia If you have been arrested for OVI in Springfield, Ohio, your misdemeanor OVI case will be heard in the Clark County Municipal Court.   If you need to find information about a case in the Clark County  Municipal Court you can search HERE for case information/case look-up,  or visit the court’s web site…
Read more

Boating Under the Influence in Ohio (BUI)

Boating Under the Influence is illegal in Ohio. 2001 Sub. S.B. 123, eff. 1-1-04 sought to unify the drunk driving provisions with Ohio's boating laws.   O.R.C. 1547.11(A)(1)  to O.R.C. 1547.11(A)(6) prohibit a person from operating or being in physical control of a vessel underway or manipulating water skis, aquaplanes, or similar devices while under…
Read more

Chillicothe Municipal Court

[caption id="" align="alignright" width="240" caption="Image via Wikipedia"][/caption] HAVE YOU BEEN ARRESTED FOR DUI IN ROSS COUNTY, OHIO? If you have been arrested for OVI (drunk driving) in Ross County, your misdemeanor case will be heard in the Chillicothe Municipal Court.  The court is located  at 29 South Paint St., Chillicothe, Ohio 45601.  You can reach…
Read more

Fairborn Municipal Court and the T.I.P. Program

People charged with Driving Under Suspension (DUS) or Failure to Reinstate in the Fairborn Municipal Court can take advantage of a new program designed to divert cases from the court's docket and help violators obtain a valid license.  Under the Traffic Intervention Program (TIP), an officer of the court helps people understand what is needed…
Read more